Semax Peptide Research: ACTH Fragment & Mechanisms

Recovery protocolsSeptember 17, 202613 min read

An evidence-based overview of Semax's ACTH-derived sequence, its neurotrophin/ischemia research, the two human stroke studies, and its FDA 503A status.

Key Takeaways
  • Semax is a synthetic heptapeptide (Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro; C37H51N9O10S; MW 813.93; CAS 80714-61-0) combining an ACTH(4-7)-derived N-terminal segment with a C-terminal Pro-Gly-Pro sequence.
  • Both "ACTH(4-7) analogue" and "ACTH(4-10) analogue" describe the same molecule from different positional reference points; Semax is not native, unmodified ACTH(4-10).
  • Preclinical research reports that Semax alters BDNF and NGF expression in rat glial cultures and brain tissue, and alters neurotrophin, immune, and vascular gene transcription in rodent ischemia models — these are animal and cell-culture findings, not confirmed human outcomes.
  • The two principal human studies (Gusev et al. 1997, n=30 vs. 80 controls; Gusev et al. 2018, n=110) were non-randomized and open-label, and the sources reviewed did not identify a large, independently replicated international trial confirming their findings.
  • An isolated Pro-Gly-Pro tripeptide did not reproduce full-length Semax's reported neuroprotective effect in at least one rat ischemia study (Fadyukova et al., 2005), supporting treating Semax as a defined seven-residue entity rather than reducing it to "PGP."
  • Semax free base and Semax acetate are not components of an FDA-approved drug; FDA evaluated them for the 503A Bulks List, and its Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee voted, in a narrow non-binding recommendation on July 24, 2026, in favor of inclusion — that vote is not FDA approval.
  • A Semax certificate of analysis should separately address identity, purity, content/assay, chemical form (free base vs. acetate), and lot traceability; one HPLC purity percentage does not by itself confirm molecular identity.

Semax is a synthetic heptapeptide with the sequence Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro. Its N-terminal four residues correspond to the ACTH(4-7) segment of adrenocorticotropic hormone. Literature also frequently describes it as an ACTH(4-10) analogue, because its seven residues occupy the corresponding ACTH(4-10) positions, with a modified C-terminal sequence rather than the native ACTH residues in that region. The sequence itself — Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro — is the clearest anchor: Semax is not native ACTH, and it is not simply the naturally occurring ACTH(4-10) fragment.

Featured In This Article
Semax

Semax

RESEARCH PEPTIDE

Semax is a synthetic heptapeptide derived from the sequence of the N-terminal fragment of adrenocorticotropic hormone (ACTH 4-10). It has been investigated in laboratory research involving neurotrophic signaling, BDNF expression, cellular signaling, and neurobiology. Helix Bio offers Semax as a research-use-only peptide for qualified laboratory and non-clinical research. It is not intended for human or veterinary use, ingestion, injection, diagnosis, treatment, or prevention of disease.

$49.99

Research on Semax spans cell-culture and rodent experiments, historical Russian clinical studies, and analytical/regulatory questions relevant to anyone sourcing it as a research material. These evidence types answer different questions: a transcriptional change in rat cortex, a plasma biomarker change in a small human study, and a formal FDA regulatory action are three separate kinds of information. This article keeps those distinct and summarizes Semax's current U.S. regulatory standing.

What Is Semax?

Semax's complete sequence is Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro (MEHFPGP): molecular formula C37H51N9O10S, molecular weight 813.93 g/mol (CAS 80714-61-0 free base; PubChem CID 9811102), a single sulfur atom from its N-terminal methionine, free N- and C-termini, no disulfide bridges.

The molecule is best understood as two segments:

  • Met-Glu-His-Phe — the ACTH-derived N-terminal segment, corresponding to ACTH(4-7).
  • Pro-Gly-Pro — a C-terminal sequence that has been described in the literature in relation to the molecule's metabolic stability, added by the Soviet-era research group (led by academicians Nikolai Myasoedov and Igor Ashmarin at the Institute of Molecular Genetics of the Russian Academy of Sciences) that first developed the compound.

Semax should be treated as this complete seven-residue entity, not as a shorthand for either component alone. Free-base Semax and Semax acetate are also distinct chemical forms; a mass figure that does not specify which form is being reported is scientifically incomplete, since the acetate counter-ion adds mass that free base does not carry.

Why Both ACTH(4-7) and ACTH(4-10) Appear in the Literature

Semax's first four residues are genuinely identical to ACTH(4-7). Some sources instead describe the complete seven-residue molecule as an ACTH(4-10) analogue, because those seven residues sit in the position ACTH(4-10) occupies on the parent hormone — with Pro-Gly-Pro substituted for the native residues that would otherwise appear there. One formal synonym reflects this directly: (Pro8,Gly9,Pro10)-ACTH-(4-10) — a positional relationship and a substitution, not an identity claim. Neither label means Semax is unmodified ACTH(4-10), and neither means Semax retains all of native ACTH's biological activity. The sequence itself remains the most precise reference point.

Semax Evidence Map

Topic

What has been studied

Evidence type

What the evidence supports

Main limitation

Molecular identity

Sequence, mass, formula (MS, database)

Analytical / database

C37H51N9O10S, MW 813.93, CAS 80714-61-0

Free base vs. acetate mass basis must be specified

ACTH relationship

N-terminal homology to ACTH(4-7); positional analogy to ACTH(4-10)

Structural / nomenclature

Explains why both descriptions circulate

Not native ACTH; doesn't reproduce its full sequence

Neurotrophin signaling (BDNF/NGF)

Glial culture and intact-rat expression

Preclinical (cell + rodent)

Reported to alter BDNF/NGF mRNA and protein

Not shown to translate to a validated human mechanism

Ischemia/stroke models

Rat pMCAO/tMCAO transcriptional response

Preclinical (rodent)

Alters neurotrophin, Trk, immune, vascular gene transcription

A transcription change isn't itself a clinical outcome

Inflammatory signaling

Genome-wide expression, ischemic rat cortex

Preclinical (rodent)

Measured changes in immune-related gene expression

Not confirmed as anti-inflammatory in humans

Monoaminergic findings

Rodent striatal dopamine/serotonin markers

Preclinical (rodent)

Changes reported under specific conditions

Sparse, older literature; may depend on co-administered agents

Human clinical evidence

1997 acute-stroke study; 2018 rehabilitation study

Human, non-randomized

Associations with recovery measures and plasma BDNF

Non-randomized, open-label; no large replicated international trial identified

Analytical identity (COA)

HPLC purity, MS identity confirmation

Analytical

Distinguishes identity, purity, content/assay

One HPLC percentage alone doesn't confirm identity

U.S. regulatory status

FDA 503A evaluation; July 2026 PCAC discussion

Regulatory

Not an FDA-approved drug; formally evaluated for 503A

A PCAC recommendation is advisory, not final FDA action

Neuroprotective Mechanisms: What Has Actually Been Studied

The mechanistic case for Semax rests almost entirely on rodent and cell-culture research — associations and effects reported in those specific systems, not a confirmed receptor-level mechanism of action in humans.

BDNF and NGF Signaling

The foundational finding here comes from Shadrina and colleagues (Neurosci Lett. 2001;308(2):115-8), who reported that Semax applied to primary glial cell cultures from newborn rat basal forebrain produced a rapid increase in both BDNF and NGF mRNA. This is a cell-culture, gene-expression finding — it demonstrates that Semax can alter neurotrophin transcription in isolated glial cells, not that it produces a clinical neuroprotective effect in a human brain.

Later work extended this to intact rats dosed intranasally, reporting increased BDNF protein in rat basal forebrain, and separately described a time-dependent, region-specific pattern of Bdnf and Ngf expression change after a single dose — not a simple, uniform increase. These remain gene- and protein-level animal findings; they do not establish a human clinical outcome, and should not be read as proof that neurotrophin elevation is the operative mechanism behind any reported human effect.

Ischemia and Stroke-Related Mechanisms

A separate body of work examines Semax in rodent cerebral ischemia models, typically permanent or transient middle cerebral artery occlusion. Dmitrieva and colleagues (Cell Mol Neurobiol. 2010;30(1):71-79; PMID 19633950) reported that Semax activated transcription of Bdnf, TrkC, and TrkA at 3 hours post-occlusion and Nt-3 and Ngf later, and that this effect was more selective to the ischemic cortex than the effect of Pro-Gly-Pro alone. A related genome-wide analysis (Medvedeva et al., BMC Genomics. 2014;15:228) reported that Semax predominantly affected immune- and vascular-related gene expression in ischemic rat cortex.

These are experimental, mechanistic animal findings. They describe measured gene-expression changes in rat brain tissue after Semax exposure — not that Semax produces measurable functional neuroprotection in a human stroke patient, which is a separate question addressed by the human research below.

Inflammatory Signaling

The Medvedeva 2014 study is again the primary anchor: it reported that Semax influenced immune-cell-activity genes as early as 3 hours post-occlusion, more pronounced by 24 hours, alongside vascular-related gene changes. This describes a measured change in an experimental rodent model — it does not establish a clinically validated anti-inflammatory mechanism confirmed at the protein, functional, or human level.

Monoaminergic Findings

A smaller set of rodent neurochemical studies has examined Semax's effects on dopamine- and serotonin-related markers, alongside older Russian pharmacology work describing some shared properties with alpha-MSH, including reported effects on striatal monoamine transmission. This evidence is preclinical, rodent-specific, and comparatively sparse — a proposed mechanism, not a confirmed human neurochemical effect.

Human Research

Human data on Semax is limited in volume and concentrated almost entirely in Russian clinical literature. The two most cited studies are summarized below; their design and reporting differ substantially from the characteristics normally expected of contemporary pivotal trials in U.S. drug development, and should be read with that difference in mind rather than as settled, generalizable evidence.

Study / population

Design

Main outcome studied

Reported finding

Key limitation

Gusev, Skvortsova, Zhuravleva, Vanichkin (1997) — 30 acute hemispheric ischemic stroke patients vs. 80 controls

Non-randomized; Semax added to conventional therapy vs. therapy alone

Clinical neurological scales; EEG mapping; somatosensory evoked potentials

Association between Semax and faster regression of cerebral/focal, especially motor, deficits

Historical Russian cohort; allocation not described as randomized; no blinding reported; not independently replicated in sources reviewed

Gusev, Martynov, Kostenko, Petrova, Bobyreva (2018) — 110 post-stroke patients (PMID 29798983)

Non-randomized, open-label; early/late rehabilitation subgroups, each split Semax vs. non-Semax

Plasma BDNF; motor performance (MRC scale); Barthel index

Semax associated with sustained higher BDNF and, with earlier rehabilitation, faster Barthel/motor improvement

Open-label, no placebo arm; effect sizes/CIs/p-values not reported in the abstract; findings read as correlational

The sources reviewed for this article did not identify large, internationally registered randomized trials that independently reproduced these findings — a comprehensive systematic review was outside this article's scope, so that observation should not be overstated in either direction.

Human vs. Preclinical Evidence

Human evidence. Two non-randomized Russian studies (1997, n=30 vs. 80 controls; 2018, n=110) reporting associations between Semax and faster neurological recovery measures, higher plasma BDNF, and improved functional scores after ischemic stroke.

Preclinical evidence. Increased BDNF/NGF mRNA and protein in rat glial cultures and brain tissue; altered neurotrophin and Trk-receptor transcription in rodent ischemia models; changes in immune- and vascular-related gene expression after experimental stroke; scattered rodent dopamine/serotonin findings.

Mechanistic inference. Based on the gene-expression data above, without being a confirmed receptor-level mechanism: that Semax's ACTH-derived N-terminus and its neurotrophin-transcription effects are connected, and that Pro-Gly-Pro helps the molecule persist long enough for that signaling to occur.

Still unestablished. That animal neurotrophin changes translate directly into human neuroprotection; that Semax has one validated mechanism of action; that the 1997 or 2018 findings would replicate in a blinded, placebo-controlled international trial; or that this evidence supports use outside the acute-stroke and rehabilitation contexts actually studied.

Several broader conclusions aren't supported by this literature either: a change in BDNF or NGF isn't itself proof of functional neuroprotection; a plasma biomarker change isn't a direct measurement of brain tissue activity; historical Russian studies don't establish current FDA approval; ischemic-stroke evidence doesn't extend to unrelated conditions; and documented medical use abroad isn't equivalent to FDA approval domestically.

Semax and Pro-Gly-Pro

Because Pro-Gly-Pro is the piece of Semax not derived from ACTH, one study is worth isolating. Fadyukova and colleagues (Bull Exp Biol Med. 2005), in a paper titled "C-terminal Pro-Gly-Pro tripeptide in contrast to full-length neuropeptide semax exhibits no neuroprotective effect in experimental cerebral ischemia," reported that isolated Pro-Gly-Pro did not reproduce the neuroprotective outcome seen with full-length Semax in the rat ischemia model tested.

This sits alongside the transcription work described above, which found that Pro-Gly-Pro alone does activate some neurotrophin and Trk-receptor transcription — just less selectively than full-length Semax. The two findings use different endpoints (a neuroprotective outcome versus transcriptional activation) and shouldn't be flattened into one conclusion. Together they support a narrow point: isolated Pro-Gly-Pro doesn't reproduce the specific neuroprotective effect reported for full-length Semax in that model — the basis for treating Semax as a defined seven-residue entity rather than reducing it to "PGP," not a claim that Pro-Gly-Pro lacks biological activity of its own.

Analytical Identity and Certificate of Analysis (COA)

A certificate of analysis for a research peptide should answer several distinct questions, not one.

Identity — does the material correspond to the intended molecular entity? Mass spectrometry (ESI-MS or MALDI-TOF) can support this by comparing observed mass against Semax's theoretical 813.93 g/mol for the free-base formula.

Purity — what proportion of chromatographically detectable material corresponds to the principal component under the stated method? This is what reversed-phase HPLC typically reports as a percentage of peak area. Purity alone doesn't confirm identity; a clean chromatographic peak can appear for the wrong molecule if identity hasn't been separately verified.

Content or assay — how much material is actually present, distinct from what proportion of it is pure.

Chemical form — free base versus acetate. Results comparing molecular mass should specify which form is being reported, since free-base and acetate are not directly interchangeable on a mass basis.

Traceability — can a result be tied to a specific lot, test date, method, and analytical record.

One HPLC percentage doesn't, by itself, establish complete molecular identity. RP-HPLC provides purity information; LC-MS can add mass confirmation; and where identity questions are closer — distinguishing closely related peptides, for example — additional analytical evidence may provide further structural or identity confirmation. This article does not assert a specific acceptance specification any product listing must meet; that's a product-page and documentation matter, separate from this research reference.

Current U.S. Regulatory Status

As of this article's publication check, Semax free base and Semax acetate are not components of an FDA-approved drug, and FDA materials state there is no applicable USP or National Formulary drug-substance monograph for either form. Under Section 503A of the FD&C Act, a compounding pharmacy may use a bulk drug substance only if it meets a USP/NF monograph, is a component of an FDA-approved drug, or appears on FDA's 503A Bulks List — for Semax, neither of the first two applies, which is why its status runs through the third pathway.

FDA evaluated Semax-related bulk drug substances (free base and acetate) for possible 503A Bulks List inclusion and presented that evaluation to its Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee (PCAC) on July 24, 2026, alongside Epitalon and Emideltide; BPC-157, KPV, TB-500, and MOTS-c were discussed the prior day in the same two-day meeting. FDA's own briefing materials didn't recommend including the Semax substances. The committee nonetheless voted, in a narrow, non-binding recommendation, to recommend six of the seven nominated substances — including Semax — for the list; Emideltide was the one voted against.

This needs to be read precisely: a PCAC recommendation is advisory only. It is not final FDA action, doesn't place a substance on the 503A Bulks List by itself, and doesn't mean compounding pharmacies are currently authorized to compound with Semax. As of the sources checked for this article, no later, final FDA action on the July 2026 recommendations had been identified — verify current status against fda.gov directly, since agency action can move.

A few distinctions are worth holding separately: "not an FDA-approved drug" doesn't by itself mean illegal in every context; "evaluated for the 503A Bulks List" isn't the same as "approved"; and documented medical use of Semax in Russia doesn't change its U.S. regulatory status. Legal status more broadly can depend on jurisdiction, product form, intended use, and distribution pathway — this article doesn't resolve that for every reader's situation. Helix Bio's own research-use-only positioning is a separate, company-level business policy, distinct from both FDA's status for Semax and jurisdiction-specific legal questions.

Semax and Selank

For disambiguation only, not a ranking — see the dedicated Semax vs. Selank comparison.

Dimension

Semax

Selank

Core sequence

Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro; MW 813.93; CAS 80714-61-0

Thr-Lys-Pro-Arg-Pro-Gly-Pro; MW 751.89; CAS 129954-34-3

ACTH relationship

N-terminal Met-Glu-His-Phe corresponds to ACTH(4-7)

Not ACTH-derived; N-terminal Thr-Lys-Pro-Arg relates to the tuftsin motif

Shared feature

C-terminal Pro-Gly-Pro sequence

C-terminal Pro-Gly-Pro sequence

Main research emphasis in the literature reviewed

Ischemic stroke, neurotrophin signaling, cognitive/attention studies

Anxiolytic-type behavioral research, immune-modulatory research

U.S. regulatory consideration

Not FDA-approved; evaluated for the 503A Bulks List, with a favorable non-binding PCAC recommendation dated July 24, 2026

Not FDA-approved; regulatory-list status should be verified independently and is outside this article's scope

The two shouldn't be treated as interchangeable simply because both are synthetic heptapeptides sharing a C-terminal Pro-Gly-Pro sequence.

Got Questions?

Frequently Asked Questions

Semax is a synthetic heptapeptide with the sequence Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro, built from a four-residue ACTH-derived segment plus a C-terminal Pro-Gly-Pro sequence. Research on it, mostly from Russian and post-Soviet literature, has examined neurotrophin signaling and ischemic-injury-related outcomes.

Partially. Its N-terminal four residues, Met-Glu-His-Phe, correspond to ACTH(4-7). Its C-terminal Pro-Gly-Pro sequence is not native to ACTH. Semax is a synthetic analogue that contains an ACTH-derived segment; it is not native ACTH.

Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro (MEHFPGP), molecular formula C37H51N9O10S, molecular weight 813.93 g/mol, CAS 80714-61-0 for the free base.

Both descriptions appear for the same molecule. Semax's first four residues are genuinely ACTH(4-7). It is also described as an ACTH(4-10) analogue because its seven residues occupy that positional segment of ACTH, with the native residues at positions 8-10 replaced by Pro-Gly-Pro.

Rodent and cell-culture studies, including Shadrina et al. (2001), report that Semax increases BDNF mRNA and protein in those systems. A 2018 human post-stroke study reported an association between Semax and elevated plasma BDNF. These are preclinical findings and a correlational human finding, not proof of a validated clinical mechanism.

The same 2001 Shadrina glial-culture study reported an NGF mRNA increase alongside the BDNF finding, and later rodent ischemia studies reported NGF transcription changes at later time points post-occlusion. This evidence is preclinical.

Yes, in a limited number of studies conducted almost entirely in Russia. The two most cited are a 1997 acute ischemic stroke study (30 Semax-treated patients vs. 80 controls) and a 2018 post-stroke rehabilitation study (110 patients) examining plasma BDNF and functional recovery measures. Both were non-randomized and open-label.

Yes — ischemic stroke is Semax's most heavily studied context in both animal models and the two principal human studies referenced above.

No. Semax free base and Semax acetate are not components of an FDA-approved drug and have no applicable USP/NF monograph. FDA evaluated them for the 503A Bulks List; its Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee voted, in a narrow, non-binding recommendation on July 24, 2026, in favor of inclusion, though FDA's own briefing materials had not recommended it. That advisory vote is not FDA approval and is not final agency action.

Both are synthetic heptapeptides sharing a C-terminal Pro-Gly-Pro sequence, but their N-terminal sequences and research focus differ: Semax is ACTH(4-7)-derived and studied mainly in ischemic-stroke and neurotrophin research, while Selank is tuftsin-related and studied mainly in anxiolytic-type and immune-modulatory research.

At minimum: molecular identity (typically by mass spectrometry against the 813.93 g/mol theoretical mass for free base), chromatographic purity (by RP-HPLC), which chemical form (free base vs. acetate) is being reported, and lot-specific traceability. A single HPLC purity percentage does not, on its own, confirm molecular identity.

No. Cell and animal findings on BDNF, NGF, and ischemia-related gene transcription describe those experimental systems and can generate hypotheses about human mechanisms, but they do not by themselves establish clinical effectiveness in people.

References
  1. 01Shadrina MI, Dolotov OV, Grivennikov IA, et al. Rapid induction of neurotrophin mRNAs in rat glial cell cultures by Semax, an adrenocorticotropic hormone analog. Neurosci Lett. 2001 Aug 3;308(2):115-8. PMID 11457573.
  2. 02Dmitrieva VG, Povarova OV, Skvortsova VI, et al. Semax and Pro-Gly-Pro activate the transcription of neurotrophins and their receptor genes after cerebral ischemia. Cell Mol Neurobiol. 2010 Jan;30(1):71-79 (Epub 2009 Jul 25). PMID 19633950.
  3. 03Medvedeva EV, Dmitrieva VG, Povarova OV, et al. The peptide semax affects the expression of genes related to the immune and vascular systems in rat brain focal ischemia: genome-wide transcriptional analysis. BMC Genomics. 2014 Mar 24;15:228.
  4. 04Gusev EI, Martynov MY, Kostenko EV, Petrova LV, Bobyreva SN. The efficacy of semax in the treatment of patients at different stages of ischemic stroke. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2018;118(3 Vyp 2):61-68. PMID 29798983. DOI 10.17116/jnevro20181183261-68.
  5. 05Gusev EI, Skvortsova VI, Miasoedov NF, Nezavibat'ko VN, Zhuravleva EIu, Vanichkin AV. Effectiveness of semax in acute period of hemispheric ischemic stroke (a clinical and electrophysiological study). Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 1997;97(6):26-34. PMID 11517472.
  6. 06Fadyukova OE, Kadi A, Bai O, Andzhusheva GM, Koshelev VB. C-terminal Pro-Gly-Pro tripeptide in contrast to full-length neuropeptide semax exhibits no neuroprotective effect in experimental cerebral ischemia. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2005 Apr;139(4):421-3. PMID 16027870.
  7. 07FDA. Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee (PCAC) briefing document and meeting page, July 23-24, 2026, Docket No. FDA-2025-N-6895.
  8. 08National Center for Biotechnology Information. PubChem Compound Summary for CID 9811102, Semax (CAS 80714-61-0; C37H51N9O10S; MW 813.9).
Helix Bio Chem Team
Published by

Helix Bio Chem Team

Research & Product Team

Our in-house team tracks published peptide research and translates it into clear, source-cited summaries for the research community.

Reviewed by in-house research chemists

support@helixbiochem.com
Related

Continue reading